ILO Governing Body elects Luc Cortebeeck as new chairperson

//ILO Governing Body elects Luc Cortebeeck as new chairperson

ILO Governing Body elects Luc Cortebeeck as new chairperson

GENEVA (ILO News) – The Governing Body  of the International Labour Organization (ILO) elected Luc Cortebeeck, President of the Workers’ Group and Vice-President of the ILO Governing Body since 2011, as Chairperson for 2017-18.

Luc Cortebeeck replaces Dr. Ulrich Seidenberger, Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations Office at Geneva, who served as Governing Body Chairperson since June 2016.

Luc Cortebeeck looks back at a long career within the trade union movement, both in Belgium and internationally. He is also Honorary President of the Confederation of Christian Trade Unions of Belgium (ACV-CSC).

H.E. Luis Enrique Chávez Basagoitia, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Peru to the International Organizations in Geneva, was elected as Government Vice-chairperson. Mthunzi Mdwaba, Founder and CEO of TZoro IBC, Chairman of the University of the Western Cape, Chairman of Productivity SA, was elected as Employer Vice-chairperson.

Catelene Passchier, until recently vice president of the Netherlands Trade Union Confederation (FNV), was appointed as Worker spokesperson .

The Chairperson and two-vice chairpersons will serve as Officers of the Governing Body during the period 2017-18.

The 330th Session of the Governing Body also considered a range of other business, including a report of the ILO Committee on Freedom of Association .

The members of the Governing Body were elected for a three-year term (2017-2020) during the 106th Session (5-16 June 2017) of the International Labour Conference .

The Governing Body is the Executive Body of the International Labour Office (the Office is the secretariat of the Organization). It meets three times a year, in March, June and November, and takes decisions on ILO policy, the agenda of the International Labour Conference, and the draft Programme and Budget of the Organization for submission to the Conference.

It is composed of 56 titular members (28 Governments, 14 Employers and 14 Workers) and 66 deputy members (28 Governments, 19 Employers and 19 Workers). Ten of the titular government seats are permanently held by States of chief industrial importance (Brazil, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States). The other Government members, and the worker and employer members, are elected by the Conference every three years.

Source:  ILO Newsroom

By | 2018-04-18T07:46:25+12:00 April 18th, 2018|Press Release|0 Comments

Leave A Comment